Tags

, , ,

To call me fat and to call me ugly.

To say things they know I don’t understand, while completely forgetting that I know enough to know that they are talking about me.

So with the Cinco de Mayo sarcasm on tumblr: when you use the word “gringo” and general “Americans”, I’m not sure if you’re talking about me or not. Which you very well could be. I had a Mexican/Chicano friend who said nothing when I brought this up and treated me like a foreigner/ tourist in El Salvador because he was around “his people”, which told me that he reserved his right to refer to me and group me with the other “gringos”, no matter what I did.

I try to live as someone who stands in solidarity with other people of color and can see the similarities between our experiences and struggles. So,

Solidarity is complicated.

in the dark,

T. Queens

