Tags

, ,

The transformative power of love is not fully embraced in our society because we often wrongly believe that torment and anguish are our ‘natural’ condition.

–bell hooks (via womenorgnow)

I’ve had two or three people, including friends, say to me that they find the suffering and oppression of others in entertainment to either be amusing, pleasurable, funny, or that they feel nothing about it.

I’ve always wondered why people see a show like Law & Order, particularly the Special Victims Unit series, as entertaining. How can they watch episode after episode and not feel anything, especially knowing that those situations are not completely fictional. Because I know that those scenarios happen to people in real life, and even if it was completely fictional, I just cannot find it in me to find it entertaining in almost any sense.

I feel the same way about these popular racist, so-called satirical cartoons like Family Guy, South Park, American Dad, and The Cleveland Show.

Movies. Books. Artwork. Anime. Manga. Everyday life.

I guess I’m just in a state if shock because it never crosses my mind that other viewers don’t feel for or try to understand the character. It certainly never enters my mind that they might be sitting there, enjoying their suffering, fictional or otherwise.

Two things:

1. Someone and somebodies are somewhere producing this stuff for profit and trying to market it as amusement/entertainment.

2. People are being socialized to view it as entertainment and think nothing of it, fictional, scripted, or otherwise.

Its disturbing and unnerving, this reality of desensatization, apathy, cruelty, and pleasure received from th unwanted suffering and pain of others.

I do not find the suffering of others entertaining, fictional or otherwise.

….Do you? Just for the sake of knowing.

