Tags

, , , ,

One of the property managers, ironically named Angel, stopped by this morning to collect half of our late rent and saw the kibble on the porch, reminding us that there is a no pet policy and to not feed the cats. Its not only these people’s jobs to manage the property, they are also here to police the people they lease to.

Being poor means I have no control over where I live and no say in how that property is governed. I have to put up or shut up. Being poor means I cannot even enjoy the company of other “free” mammals, even when they live outdoors and come and go as they please. I can have no “luxury”, none of the freedoms and pleasures that middleclass to upperclass people take for granted. I am not allowed to have kindness and love in my heart for other living beings without a price tag on it.

Anybody who reads my blogs know that I am stressed out over enough stuff.

There are people [on Tumblr] who hate animals and hate that people stand up so that other mammals can be treated “humanely” because animal rights/social justice advocates tend to do so at the expense of other humans, particularly PoC/non-white people. I seent you, otay? If you don’t like animals, don’t read this.

As a working class/poor person, I have little to no choices in where I live. I have lived in apartments most of my life, at one point as a child we were on Section 8/welfare with foodstamps. At one point, my middleclass uncle allowed us to live in one of his house properties and consistently berated us for being poor; I remember the place had a severe roach infestation but I was glad to have someone to live despite having to not leave unwrapped food in one place for too long and closely guard every glass of Kool-Aid I ever poured. I am now on foodstamps again, even with a college degree. I have moved over and over again in my life. When I was in college, I came home to a different place every summer because of our financial instability. One thing every place I’ve every moved has in common: property management.

Being poor means I have no control over where I live and no say in how that property is governed. I have to put up or shut up.

The landlords have invested in cat traps to get rid of the stray cats and have a no pet policy, which they are trying harder to enforce. My mom is not above buying a bag of kibble if she has a few extra dollars so we recently took up feeding neighborhood outdoor cats from our porch. We know what its like to go hungry and have your place of residence threatened.

I don’t have to worry about my parents saying I can’t have a feline companion (called a pet by most people). Property management makes it not a fucking option even if I did. In many if not all working class/poor communities, there are no-pet policies or they try to charge you a ridiculous fucking fee for non-human mammal living in your residence. Even in writing this post, I’m afraid to say I have cats because I don’t want my family to be evicted for ignoring the property policy. Thats the real reason we can also feed outdoors cats, is because we also have to feed our own family, who happen to be domesticated animals. I am tired of living in fear and constant stress. I am tired of being punished and having few choices because I’m poor. I’m not going to explain how or why I have cats, since a long story, okay? Okay.

Being poor means I cannot even enjoy the company of other “free” mammals, even when they live outdoors and come and go as they please. I can have no “luxury”, none of the freedoms and pleasures that middleclass to upperclass people take for granted. I am not allowed to have kindness and love in my heart for other living beings without a price tag on it.

One of the property managers, ironically named Angel, stopped by this morning to collect half of our late rent and saw the kibble on the porch, reminding us that there is a no pet policy and to not feed the cats. Its not only these people’s jobs to manage the property, they are also here to police the people they lease to.

My mom is tired of the stress of hiding the cats and wants to move again, as opposed to constantly being threatened with eviction.

