Tags

, , ,

I never thought people were actually hiding or minimizing their double chins until I saw this comment on a quote I wrote.

I do have sort of a double chin and I’m self-conscious about it because I get breakouts on the underside of my jaw a lot, breakouts which I didn’t have until like my junior year of college. It bothers me because I was bullied in school; additionally, I like for people to actually look me in the face, not focus on the breakout area which is made even more noticeable by my chin and direct light. When I’m interfacing with people, I tend to hold my head up and try not to lean my head too much to either side. Some of this is pride and a sense of dignity, some of this self-consciousness about the fatness of my head, which is big or so I’ve been told; I do feel less self-conscious when I can feel my jawline.

I see images of perfectly typically sized fat womyn/people in nice clothes with detailed descriptions of where they bought their outfits, shoes, and accessories from on Tumblr. Women with usually shaped arms. Pear-shaped and hourglass-shaped femininity. Mostly white women. Obviously people with money. Almost no guys. Double chins? I see them sometime, but I do notice that I don’t see many.

I think for some people having the second chin is marker of unjustifiable obesity. The most confident and praised fat people are usually treated as bigger versions of thinner people. The more you look like a plus-sized version of a thin/skinny person, the more praise and attention you get. Having a double chin can place you out of that category.

Which bothers me because this kind of micro-classifying of fat bodies and assignation of worth and value is out of line with what body positivity should be about. What’s the point of body/fat positivity if you feel like you have to constantly hide parts of your body, minimize, or smooth them out?

