Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m posting this here not only to update my blog but because I don’t want to bother certain followers of mine on tumblr. I know that some of them are most likely following me because they believe I have something to say that’s worth being said and this isn’t that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things. I’m supposed to be on hiatus, so I shouldn’t be on tumblr anyway.

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts talking about light-skinned privilege on my dashboard. A lot of hate for light-skinned privilege, and underneath it, hate for light-skinned people.

  1. Self-identified dark-skinned Black people are conflating light-skinned privilege, white privilege, and white-passing privilege–they are three different but related things, depending on the situation.
  2. Venting their frustration to the choir.
  3. Some browner Black people are also treating light-skinned people like white people and acting like they aren’t, insisting that light-skinned folks are just crying their pathetic light-skinned tears.

They also fail to realize–

  1. light-skinned privilege can be very arbitrary.
  2. not all light-skinned people are your enemy
  3. some of are not anti-Black and work really hard at dealing with privilege (I don’t want a cookie, I’m just saying)
  4. I don’t deserve to be written off, ignored, and disrespected for being born lighter than the rest of my family
  5. I am not white.
  6. light-skinned privilege in America is largely a product of white supremacy

I’m speaking for myself. I know its not all about me. I know there are exceptions to every rule but sometimes I feel attacked and I can’t be an exception unless I am told I am by darker Black people. Ain’t nobody got time to wait for validation.

I’m not trying to victimize myself, I’m trying to express myself: I feel like I was born defective. I’m tired of feeling like I need to apologize for existing.

Apologize for being fat. Apologize for not being dark skinned enough. Apologize for having a college degree. Apologize for being a United States citizen (for what its worth). Apologize for not acting poor enough. Apologize for having a cis-gendered body. Apologize for not speaking plainly enough.

I don’t blame them, they are voicing their lived experiences and sick of being treated like crap by their own race and everybody else; they been screwed over by light-skinned people and white supremacy, by the media, by their own people, one too many times and its daily. So I’m not going to hold up the “B-but we’re all Black” flag.

But I’m tired of being a doormat for other people’s hate. If they aim that hate at me, I’m not going to deal with them. I’m going to continue to believe and do what’s right, but I don’t have to lay down and let people walk all over me. Not anymore. Not for people of my own race. I won’t be a martyr like that anymore.

