Tags

, , , , ,

My mom’s going to get her locs “adjusted” for her new growth, I don’t know what its called. Re-twisting?? A retouch? Touch up?

Anyway, she asked me if I wanted to go with her and get my hair locked or straightened.

I told her I like my hair the way it is. Although I am concerned about tangling, knotting, and the lack of care guides, support, and advice for 4c hair.

I’ll always be suspicious of my mom talking about my hair and me having something done to it.

Because for someone who has had her hair locked, she is still overly concerned with my hair being straight. My hair that’s on my head. Not on her head.

When she asks about my hair, I’ll always feel like she’s judging me or implying I should do something to my hair. Because when I tell her no, I don’t want anything done to my hair, she’s always like

are you sure

are you sure

are you sure

are you sure

are you sure

are you sure

are you sure

are you sure

are you sure

And I’m like NO DAMNIT, DIDN’T YOU HEAR ME THE FIRST GOTDAMN TIME!!!!!!!!

Resistance is hard.

