This is probably a post more suited for my criticism blog.

However, I was reflecting on a scarring conversation I had with one of my closest friends that I cannot get out of my head.

I’ve always disliked the phrase “actions speak louder than words” because it is, at face value, oxymoronic. I think of my friend’s actions versus her words that day. She does things that a friend would do but what she said to me that day isn’t something I feel a friend says.

To speak is an action. Contrary to what seems to be popular belief. When you speak, or talk to someone, you are performing an action. Even breathing is an action, even if its involuntary I suppose.

Yes, sometimes what people say don’t match up with what they are doing or what they then do, or vice versa.

But to view speaking/talking as outside of the realm of “action” suggests that what people say is meaningless and has no impact at all. It suggests that every other manner of action is somehow more important. It suggests that people’s words, particularly in a healthy relationship, don’t have to match their action.

Which many of us know is a downright lie, a fallacy.

Life is not an action movie, where the dialogue is not really as important as what’s happening on the screen. Even action movies start out as scripts (words on a page) anyway.

