Tags

With the threat of the electricity getting cut off, my sister and I are once again hatching our escape plan from the tyranny we’ve been trying to escape from for two years of our adult lives.

No air conditioning in 100 degree weather. Food will spoil in the refrigerator. Cold showers. Stale air. Its not the worst thing that could happen or the worst we’ve been through but its bad enough.

I can’t help but think about all the times when I was in college that student financial services told me to fill the finance gap in my expenses by asking my family for help. I grew up in a single parent household and barely got five dollars for child support regularly, if that, from the guy-who-would-be-called-my-father. The rest of my family won’t lift a finger to help if its too uncomfortable for them, especially not now that I’m an adult.

The system tells you to rely on your family for help.

The system obviously doesn’t know my family.

