Tags

, , ,

I am struggling not to have an opinion about this guy I know from high school who takes pictures of nude women. My friend follows him on tumblr and I saw one of her reblogs of his work.

These are very tasteful pictures of thin pretty women. He’s good, has skills, and is obviously getting paid unlike me, who can’t get a girlfriend or a good job. So I don’t feel I should be offering my opinion either way.

I haven’t talked to him in years and I remember what kind of guy he was. Flashy, kinda self-absorbed. I gave him a kitten (really, he adopted one of my kittens), so I always assumed he wasn’t that bad. But when I see a dude like that taking nude photos of women, I don’t have a very high opinion of why. I am also still very uncomfortable with liking women and also uncomfortable with consuming exploitative, misogynist media produced largely by men–I don’t care if its consensual. I don’t want to support that.

I don’t know him anymore and I can’t ever be sure of why he does what he does. The only thing I can be sure of is that the photos look nice and are never of fat women, which I also don’t support.

