Tags

, , , , , , ,

Recently, I visited a podiatrist to check my overall foot health. Not only was the appointment uninformative and he did not examine my feet, the doctor made an unsolicited, medically unnecessary comment about my weight that had nothing to do with my feet. I reported him to this state’s Medical Board.

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve had nothing but negative experiences with doctors because I’ve never been skinny. They’re all like, “Got a cold–lose weight.” “Need some ibuprofen for those headaches–lose weight”. “Depressed and suicidal because your family is abusive–lose weight.” All doctors have ever done is look at me and see a number. Dehumanize me. Humiliate and anger me. Make things worse for me, for the most part.

Though it’s not proven by any stretch of the imagination, some doctors attack an overweight/obese state as a disease or automatically as a symptom for EVERYTHING. Patients have the right to know whether or not the doctors who see them are going to treat being overweight or obese as a disease itself. Let’s face it: Most doctors operate under the belief that being fat is always bad. In a society with a huge and shameless weight loss industry and a medical industry based in shady pseudo-science, outright bigotry, and inhumane experimentation (especially regarding Black people), I would argue that it’s necessary for a doctor to disclose the understandings and beliefs they operate under to their potential patients so patients can decide for themselves if they want to be treated by them.

After all, why do doctors get to know tons of personal information about you but you don’t get to know anything about them?

Because if I go to a foot doctor for a routine foot examination and some dumb bastard tells me to lose weight (without looking at my feet at all, mind you), I’m going to question why he has a medical license and worry about all his patients.

